PDA

View Full Version : Pilot Screw Question

rocketruss14
10-06-2009, 10:36 PM
I'm new to Jetting.

I just installed a full HMF Ballance Exhaust, KN air Filter and outerwears airbox cover. I jetted it with a Dyno Jet kit from Moose Racing

The Jet Kit recommended not running without a air box lid and Recommended I start with a 128 Main Jet. Since I am running without the air box lid I went with a 132. I also used the Fuel needle on the 4th groove like it recommended. The Kit recommended I turn the fuel mixture screw out only 1.5 turns.

Well when I got done I started it and it was backfiring really bad and shooting flames out. All this was on the decelaration. Accelerration felt good. Also the header seemed to get hot fast and turn golden but being a new pipe Im not sure. I went to trouble shoot it and the Kit recommended I turn the mixture scew out .5 turns at a time. Well seeing as how bad the back firing was I turned it out 1 turn and it seemed to help(slightly less back firing).

I ended up 4.5 turns out. I also put two screens that came with the HFM pipe into the silencer. I assume one of them is the spark arrester.

Ok finally my question is if its running good at 4.5 turns out can I leave it there? I have read some of the other threads and they say to change the pilot jet. Well I am looking at my honda service manual and I see Pilot Screw(fuel mixture screw) but not a pilot jet.

So my other question is which jet is the pilot jet?

Sorry so much in here wanted to tell the whole story to help get an answer.

Thanks.

wckedclownz69
10-06-2009, 10:48 PM
go higher on your main.. im runnin hmf slip on with new airfilter no lid and i have a 175 main in mine on 3rd clip... im in pa tho

rocketruss14
10-07-2009, 08:48 AM
I have read some of the forums and they say don't touch the main jet if my accelaration is good. They say change the pilot jet. I don't know which the pilot jet is.