PDA

View Full Version : truck question

atvnut22
10-06-2009, 08:26 PM
my buddys selling his truck, a 94 chevrolet z71, extended cab 6.5 turbo diesel for 4000 obo. its a clean truck but i havent really heard much about these engines. do you thing it is worth that much. are their any problems with these trucks. if i were to buy it, it would end up getting a 2-3 in body lift, and tires. are parts hard to find for these engines, or anything that you want to add in. thanks in advance.

cosinostra
10-06-2009, 08:32 PM
Check around on the forums about that engine.. A couple of people I know had a bunch of problems with them. Not sure what kind but they ended up selling them pretty quick after they bought them.....

Mud Goat
10-06-2009, 10:08 PM
i work on diesels for a living and other than pucking oil everywere
and not having a whole lot of power they are indestructable. know were one's at with 400,000 miles on the ticker, gets 17mpg and still has good compression. :D

wckedclownz69
10-06-2009, 10:21 PM
if i would get a diesel its gonna be a cummins..

ngates788
10-07-2009, 11:05 AM
Originally posted by wckedclownz69
if i would get a diesel its gonna be a cummins..

im a die hard chevy freak but ya when it comes down to diesel cummins all the way

brian76708
10-07-2009, 12:29 PM
yea id stick to either a 7.3 powerstroke or a 5.9 12 valve cummins just be prepared to buy a new trans if u get a cummins.

mittman
10-07-2009, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by brian76708
yea id stick to either a 7.3 powerstroke or a 5.9 12 valve cummins just be prepared to buy a new trans if u get a cummins.

Autos yes I know I went threw one but manual no. If you build the auto with semi good internals(not just rebuild it will the stock parts) it will last a good while as long as your not throwing a lot of power at it.

brian76708
10-07-2009, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by mittman