PDA

View Full Version : retard timing? MAYBE!

bob gnarl
10-05-2009, 09:24 PM
Im trying to figure out if my timing is too advanced! Ive got a serious case of the KICKBACK BLUES! its seems to me to be the most logical reason at this point!I just had the bike rebuilt from a mechanic that i have never used before so i dont know if he has it to advance or not? Its a drag ported cylinder, its bored over to 67.5mm, im running 50/50 mix. Im not sure what my compression is(feels like a sh*t ton!) But do you guys think that i could just retard the timing a touch just to get the kick start back to normal? Cause as it stands right now this bikes starter has taken out 3 grown men!LOL! But would it be possible to retard the timing just a hair or am i screwed? Thanks guys

Honda 250r 001
10-05-2009, 09:29 PM
somethings wrong... and its not the timing, maybe pre ignition because of low octane.

also i dropped my spark plug once and it closed the gap to nothing and it kicked back like a mofo for some reason.

try that along with a compression check.

bob gnarl
10-06-2009, 05:00 AM
It fires off! dont get me wrong. im just wondering if its cool to retard the timing just a touch to make my life easier on the kick start? what does advancing the timing do anyway? give you more top end? better throttle response? My bike has a enough power all the way thru that i would be willing to give a little bit of up for a easier kick start. thanks

machwon
10-06-2009, 04:37 PM
Stock 250r ignitions normally can't change the timing. The CR ignition will have a lot less advance off idle. Retarding the timing will lose power across the whole rpm range. I'd give your fresh motor 3 or 4 rides and then decide, it should get easier as it breaks in. Most people bring the piston to tdc with the kicker, then bring the kicker to the top and kick with all your weight. The harder you kick the less it will hurt.

Jason Hall
10-06-2009, 05:19 PM