PDA

View Full Version : drr 50 help, few questions

soyo
10-05-2009, 06:43 PM
hello everyone! im new to the mini quad scene and bought my son a 2008 liquid cooled drr 50.

so far i have put atv four play long travels with elkas on the front and i bought a round housing burgard long travel swingarm, but does anyone know what length and stroke shock this takes? it also looks to be +2" over stock. i have a fox 12 1/4" length shock but its way to short and the chain gets way to loose. i took the rear shock off and lifted the frame level until the front was barily touching, then i took a measurement from eye to eye and it measured 13 1/2" then i lowered it until the chain was getting loose and it was 11 1/2" so would i need to get a shock thats 13 1/2 long with a 2" stroke? 11 1/4" would be the max compressed length because the chain starts to hit the swingarm on the bottom side.

another thing im looking to do is make it faster, we are racing mx and its bone stock and a pig!! it seems to rev but not really go anywhere, and i bought it brand new. he only ways 45lbs and i dont want to get in the motor right now so what can i do as far as gearing, clutch, or anything else that will make an aprovement?

thanks to all that respond, jerod

rmuscle
10-06-2009, 03:25 PM
did u take the clip out of the cdi box , if u dont the quad will barley run

soyo
10-06-2009, 04:40 PM
yes i took the clip out, it wouldnt even pull itself with it in

JAG Motosports
10-06-2009, 05:30 PM
I'd call Gary ay G-force his 50's are fast:)

THARNESS
10-07-2009, 08:32 AM
I'd call Michelle at Hetrick Racing. Thier 50's have won the ATVA MX championships the last two seasons. They will help you out.

soyo
10-08-2009, 09:33 PM