PDA

View Full Version : Welders.. Help me.

Nick110
09-26-2009, 02:32 PM
Well Im in the market for a welder. It will run off of 110v and I need it for some of the following reasons: Welding and fabbing quad and parts, sheet metal. Im pretty sure I dont need the top of the line one but I dont want some cracker jack welder either. What are some of your suggestions? It would also be nice if it was portable. Wire fed too, i think thats mig right? Im a newbie so bare with me. In the 300-450$ range.

matt14c
09-26-2009, 02:44 PM
I just asked the same thing about two weeks ago. This should be some pretty quick/good info for ya. :devil:

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=410956&highlight=welder

400ex28
09-26-2009, 04:01 PM
I have a hobart handler 140 and its really nice, built my hybrid with it and other things it works good.

wvspeedfreak
09-26-2009, 04:43 PM
A Lincoln 140C is a great 110 welder.It is a little over the price you listed though.

eastside 400
09-26-2009, 05:28 PM
i have a clark and it works good, ive heard nothing but good about hobarts and they are in your price range. make sure you get a gas capable one because fluxcore sucks

KevinAb
09-26-2009, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by eastside 400
i have a clark and it works good, ive heard nothing but good about hobarts and they are in your price range. make sure you get a gas capable one because fluxcore sucks

x2 fluxcore sucks. My wife got me a gasless (ie fluxcore only) welder for x-mas a few years ago. I love her intent, but gas is the only way to go.

Heatpump#4
09-27-2009, 08:31 AM
if you have the money spend it on a miller 135 or hobart 140.. there the same thing i do believe miller owns hobart now.. dont get the fluxcore welders there a pain the *** plus alot harder to use

woodsracer144
10-03-2009, 09:12 PM