PDA

View Full Version : help!!!

400EX_n_NC
01-12-2003, 05:27 PM
hey guys....
awesome forums here. i have a 2003 400EX that is still stock. i rode it for the last time 2 weeks ago and all was well....i tried starting yesterday and it wont start:mad: i replaced the spark plug and its firing fine. i can smell gas when cranking but the plug looks dry and new when i pull it. i pulled the air filter and cleaned it again. also checked the vent tube on the gas cap...no joy! this seems like a simple problem but i dont want to do more damage because im no expert when it comes to carbs. ive been told numerous times they come stock jetted wrong...think thats my problem? any help will be much appreciated!!!

sly400ex
01-12-2003, 05:40 PM
How cold is it where you live? The reason why I ask is because it can be a bear to start these things when it gets a little colder out. Yes, you are correct about tthe jetting. The pilot jet is a little small in them things, stock is 38, bump it up to a 42 and that should get you started. I don't even have a choke on my 400 and I can start easily in sub-freezing weather. Hope this helps.

400EX_n_NC
01-12-2003, 05:51 PM
the weather is crazy here....freezing one day and 65 degrees the next. its always hard to start but this time i got nothing. so just changing the pilot jet fixed yours up? i was waiting to rejet until i had the money for a pipe but maybe i should go ahead and try it. what do you think?

sly400ex
01-12-2003, 05:56 PM
It did fix my hard starting problems without a doubt. Give it a shot. The pilot jet doesn't really have any thing to do with the performance once it's running or which pipe you use. It more or less richens the fuel when you first initially go to start it. Once you got it in there just pump the gas a few times and it should start right up!!!!

jb400exxx
01-12-2003, 05:58 PM