PDA

View Full Version : Am I running rich? (clip inside)

Saul76
09-09-2009, 08:07 AM
Have a look & listen and tell me if the bike sounds rich?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmHLz-e6t_k

86 Quad R
09-09-2009, 08:49 AM
really hard to tell without actually being there. besides, the best way to tell is by being in some terrain that'll put a load on the engine. your getting nothing but wheel spin on that loose *** gravel.

??? have you not figured "plug chopping" as of yet?

1promodfan
09-09-2009, 07:40 PM
Now, I'm no expert........but too me it sounds a little rich. It don't sound like its turning up real hard. But again, that is just my opinion......maybe Neil (C-Leigh Racing) will chime in. He's good about listening at a bike and tell you about the jetting.

250r grave yard
09-09-2009, 07:44 PM
it sounds like your pilot is to big the revs staying up high when you letting off the throttle and like stated its not hiting that hard also sounds like your main is to rich check your plug that will tell you every thing you need to know bout your jetting

Saul76
09-09-2009, 09:15 PM
Neil feels the pilot is too lean. :D

You get so many different opinions on the internet. Hah!

Anyways, thanks. I gotta pick up a few plugs this weekend, cause - yes - I know how to do a plug chop. :p

That said - I don't think plug chops are the be all, end all of jetting/tuning a 2-stroke.

86 Quad R
09-09-2009, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by Saul76

Anyways, thanks. I gotta pick up a few plugs this weekend, cause - yes - I know how to do a plug chop. :p

That said - I don't think plug chops are the be all, end all of jetting/tuning a 2-stroke.

ohhhh and why is that? juss curious.:cool:

Saul76
09-09-2009, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by 86 Quad R
ohhhh and why is that? juss curious.:cool:

Your mixture could be oil rich and fuel lean (low octane, strange ratio etc) or vice versa - giving you a false reading.

And if you don't do it exactly right you can get a false reading.