PDA

View Full Version : runnin lean explain for a friend

2k2-300exnj
01-11-2003, 04:45 PM
capecod400ex doesnt understand how running lean will seize your motor can u explain it for me im not good at explainin stuff like that...
he has a slip on Q muffler, and a K&N filter, i was thinking at least one main jet maybe 2,
thanx a lot

01-11-2003, 07:12 PM
Originally posted by 2k2-300exnj
capecod400ex doesnt understand how running lean will seize your motor can u explain it for me im not good at explainin stuff like that...
he has a slip on Q muffler, and a K&N filter, i was thinking at least one main jet maybe 2,
thanx a lot

NO THANKS...haha

TRX_Thumper
01-11-2003, 07:27 PM
a motor running lean will run hotter....it can get so hot in the combustion chamber that the piston melts....and also if the bikes jetted right you will always have more power than stock jetting...

lilpoppy
01-11-2003, 08:25 PM
Actually i believe that in most cases running lean can make you run faster but it is very bad for your engine. Correct me if im wrong.

01-11-2003, 08:54 PM
Originally posted by lilpoppy
Actually i believe that in most cases running lean can make you run faster but it is very bad for your engine. Correct me if im wrong.

your wrong

haha sike i dunno. i doubt runnin lean will make u faster tho

Nausty
01-11-2003, 09:22 PM
yes I am pretty sure the leaner, the more power but you gotta be careful when running lean because of much hotter it will run and have other engine problems because of it. I've heard a lot about people burning holes through their pistons from running to lean.

01-11-2003, 09:24 PM
Originally posted by Nausty
yes I am pretty sure the leaner, the more power but you gotta be careful when running lean because of much hotter it will run and have other engine problems because of it. I've heard a lot about people burning holes through their pistons from running to lean.

hmm. guess ya learn somethign new everyday. i woulda never thought that :huh

0240099r1