PDA

View Full Version : Started The 440 Today!

bigbad400
09-02-2009, 03:51 PM
i put the new head studs in today and started up the 440 for the first time, it runs good in the middle and top end but i have the idle all the way up to get it to idle and its real rough and when i give it throttle without a load it sputters and chokes, stock carb, i have a 42 pilot and a 185 main needle 4th clip down and air screw 2 1/2 tuns out. i think i need a 45 pilot brolly but i thaught id run it by the forum and see what you guys think. maybe i dont need to buy jets. most likely i do but....

bigbad400
09-02-2009, 06:25 PM
bumpin it up maybe this time someone will speak up.

tri5ron
09-02-2009, 06:49 PM
I'm by no means a jetting pro, but I'd think that you would need to go waaay up on the pilot, from a 42.
(im talking a KIEHEN pilot, ... NOT DYNOJETS, also, you do realize that a KIEHEN 42 , and a DYNOJET 42, Are NOT the same sizes?)

think of it this way..
when putting a 450r carb on a STOCK BORE 400ex, it is recommended to start with a 170 - 175 main, and a 50 pilot.(KIEHEN)

you have a 440, so it would be my guess, (and it is only a guess), that you would need to be at least at a 52 pilot. (KIEHEN)

also, it would serve well for your own information to take the time to carefully read through ZRpilots jetting sticky, as well as all the others.

ngates788
09-02-2009, 09:10 PM
When I origionally had a 440 in mine, it ran fine with the stock 38 pilot f/a 2.5 out. I think I had a 160 main, can't remember exactly now, its been a while.

bigbad400
09-03-2009, 05:49 AM
Originally posted by tri5ron
I'm by no means a jetting pro, but I'd think that you would need to go waaay up on the pilot, from a 42.
(im talking a KIEHEN pilot, ... NOT DYNOJETS, also, you do realize that a KIEHEN 42 , and a DYNOJET 42, Are NOT the same sizes?)

think of it this way..
when putting a 450r carb on a STOCK BORE 400ex, it is recommended to start with a 170 - 175 main, and a 50 pilot.(KIEHEN)