PDA

View Full Version : Cylinder wall clearence for 310

Honda 250r 001
09-01-2009, 09:11 AM
this winter im goin for a new piston and bore for my 310, but i know that you have to run more tolerance with a bigger piston because more metal can expand more and since this is my first time i dont know how far to go.

On my stock cylinder with a 68m piston i was running 3 thousandths, but should i run more with the 310? I want reliability and i break my engines in for at least 3 hours before running hard.

I like to run forged but if you guys think i could get more hours out of a cast piston then i will give one a try.

hondamancbr03
09-01-2009, 10:39 AM
Whatever piston you choose will have the clearance requirements required....Forged pistons need more clearance since they react more to heat, where as cast does not.

I leave my clearance requirements up to the machinist and the piston manufacturer not a forum.....That's just my two cents.

Honda 250r 001
09-01-2009, 10:54 AM
well what do you run? Thats what i want to know. Some people run 3 thousandths to start off and others run 8 thousandths. Im my own engine builder so i need a lil help.

croat1
09-01-2009, 11:17 AM
you are an engine builder? or do you just assemble the motor?
you have a cylinder boring machine?

like hondamancbr03 said the machine shop will bore to the correct size. who's 310 motor do you have. i would first ask them.

just my opinion

Honda 250r 001
09-01-2009, 11:24 AM
so no know knows what they bore their cylinders to?

hondamancbr03
09-01-2009, 12:18 PM
Many things come into factor when having your cylinder bored...It's not a black or white selection, go on www.wiseco.com if you really need to know (if you run their piston).

My drab Banshee is close to .0035 Niks plated
My Play Banshee is close to .004 to .0045 Niks plated
My Honda was together when i purchased it and only have had the head off to change compression and check port timing, can't say what it was set at......