PDA

View Full Version : Z400- rejetting for high elevation Question

hollamby
08-28-2009, 02:41 PM
Hello all,

I am just getting into the atv world and new to carbs. I have always had fuel injected snowmobiles and motorcycles.

Anyways, I have done a lot of reading on the subject but having a hard time with the high elevation here in Colorado. Most people ride lower and there settings are very different.

I ride roughly 7,000 to 10,000 elevation. I know that it will need to be rejetted depending on riding at 7,000 vs 10,000. I am just looking for a starting point.

The quad is a 2003 LTZ400 everything stock. It has a 130 jet in it with stock carbs. When running at 8,000 to 9,000 ft is is rather boggy in 3rd, 4th, and 5th. If I am climbing a hill it will bog to the point of stalling. I understand if I remove my air lid that will lean the machine out. So if it is running very rich already and I lean it out with the air filter do you think that this would be a good starting point before rejetting?

The plug is completely black. In 1st and 2nd it doesn't run that bad. I don't hear any poping with accel or decel. I read that you should drop down one main jet size for every 1750 to 2000 feet of elevation you go up (info for Mikuni carbs). True? Seems I would be down very low though.

Just looking for any type of help. I don't plan on putting a exhaust on this quad because I am going to buy a new 09 LTZ in the spring. So the jetting settings would be for a completely stock ltz with possible the airbox lid removed. Just trying to get it set for summer time riding with the eleveation. But I want to get this one runnning good so I can pass it to my girlfirend.

Last quick question. If I adjust the carbs for 8,000 ft and then start it at my house (6,000 ft) am I causing harm to the quad. I don't plan on driving it at my house that much I am just talking about loading and unloading it from my truck.

Thanks!!!!

KAWIRYDER
08-29-2009, 10:07 PM