PDA

View Full Version : ESR ported cylinder; help determine rpm range

kmfl
08-17-2009, 09:24 AM
I just bought an 86 and the cylinder has been ported by ESR. Is there any way to tell how it's been ported? Can you determine port timings by measuring from the top of the cylinder down to the intake and exhaust port? I took the head off and did so but don't really want to pull the jug. It doesn't say anything but ESR that has been ground into the side of it. Thanks for any help

86 Quad R
08-17-2009, 09:44 AM
i'm no expert by no means but if i'm not mistaken there should be a port designation located somewhere on the underside of the cylinder. unfortunately this requires that you remove the cylinder. :(

hondamancbr03
08-17-2009, 11:38 AM
Actually it's very simple....Just buy a degree wheel from a parts store or eBay and pull off your flywheel, mount the degree wheel on the crank (they come with spacers), use a wire under one of your base nuts with it bent over the degree wheel, set the piston at TDC and the wheel on TDC, spin the crank and see what your exhaust and transfers are set at.....It's a very simple thing to do. You can measure down to your transfers and exhaust but you will need two stroke software or someone that has port numbers saved from past experience to say what it is. I prefer to port time my bike with a wheel, it's the most accurate way IMO.

I can send you a picture of the degree wheel i use if you are interested.

kmfl
08-17-2009, 01:08 PM
The degree wheel would be best but I have it all backtogether and riding it. Just looking for a "rough" idea of the type of port job. The exhaust is about 1.56" from the top deck and the intake is about 2.26". I didn't measure the transfers. Is that enough info to take a guess? Low,mid or high? Just tring to halfway match a pipe. Currently using a pt 89 race pipe. Thanks for any help.

1promodfan
08-17-2009, 01:26 PM
check your PM's..........

fulltiltrider
08-17-2009, 03:58 PM