PDA

View Full Version : New to R's.School me!

jarfly
08-10-2009, 06:30 PM
I am very new to 250r's and 2 smokers all togeather.
After haveing my R for a few days now I have fell in love with it. So much power for such a little bike. I have road 400ex's 660 raptors and the 250r just walks all over these bikes. But mine ant perfect. It is very hard to start. I have to keep kickin and kickin till I am sweating like a stuck hog.LOL I am thinkin my gas is not mixed right. I dont know what it is mixed at. I pulled my plug and it was very wet like its not fireing. I didt have an extra plug to put in it so I quit with it for tonight. What is the right mix for these bikes? I have been told 40-1 and 32-1.

leager-n-ky
08-10-2009, 06:33 PM
Check your spark, and your compression. I run 32:1.

kookennay
08-10-2009, 11:11 PM
32:1 and can you roll it and pop the clutch and get it to start? i say this cause i could kick mine all day and it would not start but i could push it and it would fire right off. it had a little spot of rust on the flywheel were the little spot is raised up and it was causing it to not pick up and let it start. just my two cents.

79vwrabbit
08-11-2009, 06:39 AM
Hey, you’ll love the 250R. They’re easy machines to work on and modify-being single cylinder two stroke and all. And there ain’t nothing like the smell of premix and the sound of a hard-running two stroke on the pipe!

Make sure to use a quality two stroke oil. I like Amsoil Dominator mixed at 50:1.

As for hard starting, sometimes worn reed valves cause leakage of case pressure and make the engine hard to start. An ignition in poor condition will contribute to fouled plugs too-gotta have a hot ignition. If a wire connection looks bad, it probably is. And the only way to guarantee a good connection is soldering. The wiring on these bikes is SO SIMPLE. Also, jetting that’s off could be a major cause as well. More likely though, it’s a combination of the stuff listed above.