PDA

View Full Version : r's are tough

kookennay
08-09-2009, 08:17 PM
i have been riding one of my 86 r's for about 6 months now usually ever other weekend. well today i was riding at local 4wheel park that i have been to about everytime i ride, so i know the place good. climbing a hill i have a hundred times it bogged i shifted back down right into neutral so i started sliding backwards and jumped off i rolled once on its side then end over end. the ony thing i did was bend the bars a little and the rod between the tie rods. i was amazed it was even still running when it stopped flipping and landed on ots wheels. i havd had 300ex's and done the same thing and be trashed' but the r held up like a tank. sorry for the long story but i love my r's and i now have another reason to.

kookennay
08-09-2009, 08:29 PM
oh and can anyone tell me what some good handle bars are i dont want nothiing expensive but soomething decent

destey
08-10-2009, 12:05 PM
pics of the wreck and hill!!!

deathman53
08-10-2009, 12:51 PM
I've rolled my old one and current ones, I bent the steering stem. Last trip I went on, a kid hit a rut the wrong way, tried to ride it out and flipped. He ended up bending the frame at the steering stem bushing back, basically cutting all the wires on it, bending tank mounts and maybe more. This was on a 400ex. One of my bikes, the previous owner had something happen on a mx track and ended up rolling down the real steep side of the "stair case" at e-town. Bent steering stem and broke spindle. The steering stem wasn't bad and its still the same one to this day. I hit a rut on rausch creek and flipped my 250r, bent the houser stem and left it alone, nothing else happened.

RyanWsly
08-10-2009, 02:49 PM