PDA

View Full Version : what the f*#% !!!!!

neon3beres
08-04-2009, 05:36 AM
I AM IN DESPERATE NEED OF ASSISTANCE!!! I HAVE LOTS AND LOTS OF "TOYS" I AM NOT A MECHANIC, BUT I DO ALL OF MY OWN WORK AND AM VERY EDUCATED WITH THESE THIGNS BUT........ MY 86 SUZUKI LT250R **** THE BED AFTER GOING OVER A 1' HIGH JUMP WHEN TRAIL RIDING...... IT POWERED DOWN TO A COASTING STOP AND HAS NOT WORKED SINCE.... I HAVE RE-RINGED IT, HONED IT, NEW GASKETS, NEW PLUGS, CHECKED AND DOUBLED CHECKED THE CARBURETOR, THE STATOR IS IN GOOD SHAPE, THE TIMING IS CONTROLLED BY A KEY IN A KEY-SLTO WHICH IS THERE AND IS MINT, I REPLACED THE CDI BOX WITH AN '87 CDI BOX AND AN '86 CDI BOX........... AND IT DOES THE SAME THING >>> WHEN CRANKIN-ON-IT, IT SIMPLY SITS THERE AND GARGLES (BACK-FIRE GARGLE) AND EVENTUALLY HAS A SERIOUS, LOUD, POP OF A BACK-FIRE.... BUT NEVER STARTS!!!
WHAT IS THERE LEFT FOR ME TO DO OR ATTEMPT?!?! IT WOULD APPEAR AS "TIMING" (IT IS SPARKING AT THE WRONG TIME) BUT DON'T KNOW HOW THAT COULD BE BASED ON EVERYTHING ELSE I'VE DONE/CHECKED....
PLEASE LEND A HAND TO A FELLOW ATV RIDER!!!!
THANX
MATT

Quadzilla2win
08-04-2009, 08:43 AM
I'm fairly certain that the 85-86's have the stator plates just like the 87-92's. The timing isnt controlled by the woodruff key. that's is there solo to keep the flywheel from spinning freely on the crank. The stator plate should have a notch at the very top. your motor will also have a notch. make sure these notch line up perfectly. the stator plate is held on with 3 screws, use an impact screwdriver to loosen them and tighten. For something to just "die" screams 2 things to me, either a piston seized or an electrical problem. also, check all your grounds and electrical connections look for exposed wires, etc. And check the ground wire that plugs into the coil. I cant tell you how many times the ground wire to my coil popped off on my zilla.

edit**one other thing, did you check for spark?