PDA

View Full Version : stock or 11:1 piston???

400man
07-28-2009, 11:23 AM
im new to the 4 stroke thing (been a 2 stroker since ive been riding) and I got a question about different compression ratio pistons. how much difference in compression is there between the stock 10:1 and a 11:1 piston? ive done a little searching and seen that if you go 12:1 then you need to run race fuel, which I dont want to, and 11:1 is still safe to use premium pump gas. my 400 is a 2000 model and it smokes pretty good after its warmed up, a little too much to just be valve seals I think. im not sure if the motors ever been took apart, since ive only had the bike about a week or two. I plan on checking out the topend fairly soon too see what size/shape its in. if its stock I plan on just going to a 86mm, but I dont know much difference in power i'd get from either a stock 10:1 or a 11:1 piston. I dont plan on doing any other mods to it, maybe a stage 1 or 2 cam at the most, since its already got a Big Gun full system. i'd like to just keep it reliable mostly instead of making it a screamer (my 250r takes care of that :) ). right now it does make some good power in the lowend and midrange, but its pretty weak on the topend.

thebig450es
07-28-2009, 12:00 PM
in my honda manual, it says its a 9.1:1 compression stock, i think you would feel abit of a difference foing to 11:1, a cam would help also.

400man
07-28-2009, 12:10 PM
and I forgot one more thing, the sparks advance timing key. ive read that it will give a big increase in the throttle response and lowend power on a stock compression motor, but shouldnt be used on a higher compression ratio piston like 11:1 or 12:1 because it will make it run alot hotter.