PDA

View Full Version : rear axle/carrier bearings??

tbrackman84
07-11-2009, 12:57 PM
is it complicated to change the rear carrier bearings or do you need any special tools or what??? I have limited knowledge but my friend is very good with quads... ANY info will help
thanks alot

TCracin440ex
07-11-2009, 01:29 PM
its not hard at all. loosen the jam nut on the right side of the axle, pop the snap ring out of the axle then take the brake caliper off. the b rake rotor and hub should slide right off. then take the snap ring off of the carrier itself that holds the brake caliper mount on..the axle should be ready to come out

far as the bearings ive always used a hammer and a punch and stuck the punch down in the carrier and stuck it on the backside of each bearing and beat on it...they will come out eventually

when installing just reverse those steps. make sure you buy 2 dust seals too. u use a socket bout the same size as the inner bearing race and beat the bearings back in until they are seated...make sure you use plenty of grease behind the bearings and on the bearings and in the axle tube

but i will forewarn you the stock carriers are junk. and dont go buy cheap bearings off ebay they wont last long and you will be doing the same thing again a few months down the road.

id really suggest saving a few coins and going and buying an aftermarket twin row carrier...they are alot better and will last alot longer as long as you keep them greased

TCracin440ex
07-11-2009, 01:33 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Bearing-Carrier-HONDA-250R-400EX-ATV-H10_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZ65Q3a12Q7c66Q3a2Q7 c39Q3a1Q7c72Q3a1171Q7c293Q3a1Q7c294Q3a50QQ_trksidZ p3286Q2ec0Q2em14QQhashZitem4cea028019QQitemZ330343 546905QQptZMotorsQ5fATVQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

this is what i had in my 400ex. its still in my 400ex to this day. i know the boy that has the bike.

it was very worth the 105 dollars, plus its got a remote zerk so you can grease it without having to take the carrier out