PDA

View Full Version : clutch slippin????

cannondale4life
07-09-2009, 10:23 PM
hey i just got a 250r and im noticing the clutch slipping,the guy i got it off of told me he has synthetic oil for bottom end oil,not sure if this is good or bad just wondering what would cause it to slipp sorry for the newb question haha try to bare with me any input would be well appreciated

Honda 250r 001
07-10-2009, 08:12 AM
im not an expert on oils, but i wouldnt run car oil in it. IF your running the stock cylinder on a stock clutch it should be fine. Maybe its time for a clutch rebuild. I would start by changing the oil to a good high performance gear oil.

cannondale4life
07-10-2009, 08:52 AM
yea thats probly what im gonna do but im not sure what is a good oil to run??

Motofool250r
07-10-2009, 08:57 AM
are we sure the cable is adjusted properly first?

synthetic oil shouldn't cause it to slip only worn or improperly adjusted clutch cable should do that

Motofool250r
07-10-2009, 08:59 AM
ive ran everything from type f ATF and regular engine oil

get some maxima gear oil from the motorcycle shop or go to honda n grab some honda gear oil off the shelf if your that worried.

we use Brad Penn fully sythetic oil in our 250rs that we run in oregon

cannondale4life
07-10-2009, 11:54 AM
ok well how will i know if its adjusted improperly

woodsracer144
07-10-2009, 01:35 PM
well... for me... me when my clutches were junk... i could put it in gear and have the clutch pulled in and revved it and it would start to go foward...(cable would be all the way adjusted) also... i would hardly move that fast when i would hit the gas pinned... its wasnt as peppy....

Motofool250r
07-10-2009, 06:02 PM
can you wiggle your clutch lever without pulling the cable is ther a small amount of play so that the lever is not in tension with the clutch while you dont have it pulled in?

you should have 1/8" or so play meaning you can wiggle the lever in and out and the cable is not being pulld yet.