PDA

View Full Version : leaks gas?

unitednations
07-01-2009, 09:48 AM
My 400 leaks gas out of the over flow after i get done riding the float is good and the pin is good. Any ideas?

storms400ex
07-01-2009, 10:13 AM
sounds like it needs a new needle and seat

unitednations
07-01-2009, 10:15 AM
What is the needle and seat? Is the needle the thing that goes through the hole?

sorry I'm not very good with carburetors. :(

86 Quad R
07-01-2009, 12:31 PM
chances are that the float needle is bad and/or the seat just needs a good polishing.

07-01-2009, 02:08 PM
Check the float for gunk and build up... then clean it out good with carburetor cleaner. It could be sticking a bit.

Rkangel7
07-01-2009, 04:13 PM
Does it leak when level, or does it only leak when the quad is on an incline? Mine usually leaks gas from the overflow only if I stand it on the grab bar or leave it on a steep incline without shutting the fuel off. I will also get a few drips when I load it in the back of the truck. It doesn't leak when level. I always thought this was somewhat normal and was told that it's because the overflow goes below the normal fuel level in these situations. Could I have been misinformed? Now you all have me a little concerned about my carb, too...

flyboy1294
07-01-2009, 04:55 PM
My carb did the same thing. The float was getting stuck open. A temporary fix is to shut the gas 'off' and let it idle for a minute or two before shutting it off. This drains the bowel and should tide you over until you decide to tear it open and work on it.

unitednations
07-01-2009, 05:29 PM
Mine will drip every so often when im driving it, then when i shut it off it will pour out. I took the carb apart and it looked fine( i filled it up and it didn't leak) cleaned it out and i ordered a new float and valve. Got them both cheap together so ill see if that fixes it.