PDA

View Full Version : 86 lt250r questions

86 lt250r
06-26-2009, 02:49 PM
hey im new to this
i just bought a 86 q racer 250r and i got a few questions
it has a exhaust and filter and thats about it, im only 17 and dont got a bunch of money but what are some more cheap things i can do to it to get a little more performance?
what type of oil should i use?
whats the best gear ratio to run on a stock bore?
i kno there aint that much out there for an 86 but i love the thing

LTandRaptorider
06-27-2009, 10:30 PM
Welcome to the LT250R world! :D

For not much money... You say it already has an aftermarket exhaust and air filter? That of course is the first thing. Might wanna re-pack the silencer if that hasn't been done for awhile. Bigger carb won't help with just an exhaust, but make sure the jetting is right. May need to go up a size or two on the main. Check the reeds. Probably still stock, and maybe original. Get some Boyesen reeds. Put a new plug in if the one in it has been there awhile. Pull the cylinder head and clean the combustion chamber(dome). Pro-Design cool head is about $200. Not sure if they are still available for the 85-86 LTs.

Suzuki recommends 10W40 oil. But since it's a 2-stroke and doesn't lube the engine, you can use something like Bel-Ray 80 weight 2-stroke tranny oil.

Stock gearing is 12-42. Since the engine is mostly stock, I wouldn't recommend more than a 13T front sprocket to give you a little more on the top end.

I still see a fair amount of stuff on ebay if you need replacement parts. Remember to check the sellers rating before buying! If they have less than a 98-99% rating, I don't order from them. ;)

Good luck, have fun! :cool:

86 lt250r
06-28-2009, 03:09 PM
i was looking at mine and it looks like it was recently rebuilt( gasket stuff seeping out of the head, and yellow crayon on the head) so im thinking all the internal cleaning was done,