PDA

View Full Version : needing some help with my first outlaw

mattman_13
06-23-2009, 10:10 PM
i just bought a used 2007 outlaw 525. it was supposed to be in mint condition but i got ripped off...ive got a few problems with it that i need some help with
1) the first night i rode it the front left wheel bearing went out.. ive gotten the rims off but i cant get the thing off that the lugs are connected to that slide on the hub to get the old bearings out
2)if i dont grab the front brake for a bit the next time i try to grab it to brake it will take 3-5 pumps to get good pressure on em
3)when going really slow or in reverse then switch to 1st the bike will die.

thanks for any help you all can give. im really new to these quads and thought i was getting a good deal on one.. its supposed to have a warranty till may 2011 on it but considering how that guy was im doubting it now..
thanks, mattman

coalrat
06-23-2009, 11:58 PM
Check your rear brakes too for wear. the pumping needed for the brakes is most likely becouse your bearing in front( maybe back also) is wore out and causing your brake disc to wobble, pushing your caliper pucks back in.
To sleepy to look at my manual , i'll check back and reply if needed.

mattman_13
06-24-2009, 06:44 AM
thanks for the reply.. when the bad wheel is off the brakes work well.. i guess it was from the bearing like you said.
now i gotta get the things off with the bearing in em!

TYLER329
06-24-2009, 07:12 AM
The brake problem is definately the wheel bearing problem. The stalling problem is probably the adjustment on the throttle cable up on the handlebars. If this is all that is wrong with the bike then you didn't get ripped off. Wheel bearing failures are common on these things until you go to a better bearing (ie not Chinese)

mattman_13
06-24-2009, 07:51 PM