PDA

View Full Version : What shocks to buy

CRBOGGAN
06-22-2009, 02:12 PM
I am new to DRR/drx and my son races MX outdoor and arenacross. He has a 09 DRX90 with stock shocks an I am looking to upgrade. What is the best money spent. Should I just get shocks on stock Aarms or go all the way with long travel. Also what brands does every one like.

coffing918
06-22-2009, 02:33 PM
we like elka or fox

raidernut
06-22-2009, 03:33 PM
Fox stock replacement would be the best bang for your buck

EthansDad
06-22-2009, 09:41 PM
We're running the Fox shox on our DRR 50 this year and liking them so far. They really reduce weight, and take a pounding from my little guy that likes to short doubles. We have had some issues with the bearings, but that was more a lesson in those things need care, cleaning and lots of grease on a regular basis.

Lots of folks on the 90 scene like the elkas, and they might be more proven on the ATV front, but Fox has given us a noticeable improvement in lap times, and great company support overall.

Logan #34's Dad
06-22-2009, 10:18 PM
Well, Logan runs full adjustment Elka's on stock A-arms. He does just fine. I just could not justify the $1600.00 for the long travel A-arms and Shocks for another 3/4 on an inch. HOWEVER, If you got bank - go with the Dave Carter A-Arms and Fox Floats. If I could afford to get all new, that is what I'd go with. Just my opinion. Who knows, he could turn faster lap times if I had the long travel stuff.
I'm going to put a set of 14" long travel shocks on stock a-arms on this weekend and set the sag and see how they look. As long as the shock bottoms out before the frame - I may be good. We'll see and I'll let you know.

QuadJunkies
06-23-2009, 12:22 AM
My Son runs Z-broz racings EXIT/ ARSFX set up and couldnt be more pleased.
I think one key in chosing suspension also will depend on how aggressive the rider is and how long he or she will be on it.