PDA

View Full Version : 400ex acting like the choke is on

frockalicious
06-19-2009, 09:44 PM
Ok guys this is gonna be long so bear with me. I have an '01 400ex mostly stock. It was garged for a few years and the carb was recently rebuilt and I have been riding it a lot lately. I have a foam intake kit and I took the spark arrestor out of the stock exhaust. Kinda ghetto I know but I am a student without a whole lot of extra cash to spend on my wheeler. I am at 5000 feet elevation. I took the choke out and my jetting is a 42 pilot and a 155 main. I had the needle on the third position and it seemed a tad rich but not big deal it ran well. I was riding the other day and wheelied over going up a dune and bent my bars. I bought new ones and hooked everything up. ( I dont know if this might have to do with the problem). The quad was running fine on the jetting that day and the next day it ran great for a while and all of a sudden started sputtering and acting like the choke was on. I moved the needle clip up a notch to lean it out but it didn't do anything. Is my pilot too rich or my main maybe? I don't think this would affect it all that much though because it ran fine like that for a while. Anyone have any idea what might be going on? Bad plug maybe? clogged filter? I just put it in a few weeks ago it should be fine. HELP ME PLEASE. I am clueless

hypersnyper6947
06-19-2009, 09:53 PM
Have you checked your parking brake??

frockalicious
06-19-2009, 10:19 PM
no I haven't. What do i check?

Pappy
06-19-2009, 10:22 PM
Drop the carb drain bolt (trying not to spill any gas) and look for dirt. Sounds to me like you may have dirt in the carb, possibly a clogged main jet.

honda400ex2003
06-19-2009, 10:27 PM