PDA

View Full Version : crank rebuild

MossboysRacing
06-18-2009, 04:25 PM
I have an extra 85/86 short rod crank that I am having rebuilt. The motor is coming out this weekend and is due for some work, which equals money :( Anyway, Can i have the short rod crank rebuilt with the 87-89 long rod, to basically make it the later crank? I know i will need a spacer, but i would prefer to have the extra rebuilt, than buying a different one. Also, which company? I was going to go Stock Honda, or Pro-X ?

destey
06-19-2009, 04:46 AM
Won't the longer crank not only give the piston upwards height at TDC, but increased downwards depth at BDC? Thus throwing off the port timing and possibly having the piston skirt hit the crank? The spacer will fix the issue about the piston on its upstroke, but what about the downstroke?

Im new to this and no expert by any means, just want to throw some questions out there.

I've got a 86 I have split apart right now, just got back my OEM crank from labaron's power sports where they put on a pro-x connecting rod.

hondamancbr03
06-19-2009, 08:55 AM
Originally posted by destey
Won't the longer crank not only give the piston upwards height at TDC, but increased downwards depth at BDC? Thus throwing off the port timing and possibly having the piston skirt hit the crank? The spacer will fix the issue about the piston on its upstroke, but what about the downstroke?

The longer rod does not increase the stroke and a spacer plate will be required....What the longer rod does is take off side force of the piston against the cylinder wall which gives longer life for the piston and some believe a faster rev-ing engine. As for brand of rod, very few companies make products as good as Honda.

Side note: The only way to increase stroke is a stroker crank.

wilkin250r
06-19-2009, 08:22 PM
Originally posted by hondamancbr03