PDA

View Full Version : How to reduce frame weight...

quad2xtreme
06-16-2009, 03:23 PM
You can just remove unnecessary sections. :D

416exfreak
06-16-2009, 06:11 PM
How'd you break that.

It cant be fresh but, because there wouldnt be rust on the area of seperation just after cutting.

So, pray tell.. how the f**k did you do that?
:confused:

quad2xtreme
06-16-2009, 06:58 PM
Originally posted by 416exfreak
How'd you break that.

It cant be fresh but, because there wouldnt be rust on the area of seperation just after cutting.

So, pray tell.. how the f**k did you do that?
:confused:

I have no idea at all. I can tell you for sure the break closest to the rear of the quad was not there before I started riding Sunday. Guess the front one could have been. It looks rustier than it really is although you can see that the inside of the tubes do have some surface rust on them. It definitely has a day of rusting from when I washed it.

My wife wants me to go ahead and order the Lonestar frame instead of getting a bike.

06-16-2009, 07:01 PM
dont know why I didnt think of this before I took a grinder to my frame rails today hopefully i can keep up with the 450's this weekend.

deathman53
06-16-2009, 07:18 PM
if you look on his other thread, way over gusseting the frame, making for a frame thats too stiff. And then without it flexing, it will flex in the weakest area and cause it to break.

"the trx250R frame only needs what you see hear in the link to the thread below ,..no more no less

more is a waste & can make the frame too stiff ,promotes more breakage at times
less is ineffective for preventing breakage ,cracks etc ..& wont handle hard core rding /jumping etc
I see how people / riders add all those ridiculous lil triangles ...& I think why ? I guess some dont really know what it takes to get the right balance ...so they just "hope" it works ..

the pics are of a proven a method & areas that frame needs to maintain some flex & still adds stength to prevent breakage ..