View Full Version : Small block ford choices

hondariderdylan
06-11-2009, 06:31 PM
I am currently working this summer to put money into my bronco this fall

the first item on my list is an engine swap, the truck currently has the 4.9 300 ci I-6 with 215,000 miles on it and i was wanting to swap it out for a 5.0 or a 351

once i pick up another job it will end up with a 6 inch lift and probably 35 or 36 inch tires on it

anyone have any experience with a swap like this?
im kinda new to this so what else do i need for the swap?

fastredrider44
06-11-2009, 07:25 PM
I voted 5.0. Parts are plentiful and they are proven motors. Easier to find than a 351 Windsor motor anyway.

Tommy Warren
06-11-2009, 07:32 PM
yeah go with the 5.0... just make sure you do up the tranny before you do up the motor. i've always had tranny problems with the 5.0. and a 5.0 might be able to work on your current tranny. just make motor mounts and put heavier springs in it. also i dunno what year it is but if it had a carb don't try to convert it to EFI its a pain in the junk!!

Kickstarts-suck
06-11-2009, 09:00 PM
Id go with a 351w

More torque for a 4x4 bronco. Ive owned a 5.0 and 5.8 and the 351 is much better then the 5.0.

KXRida
06-12-2009, 05:50 AM
I'm assuming that this is a full size bronco seeing that it has the I6 in it.

If I remember correctly 351's used to come in the full size B's, so you can probably find most of what you need in a junk yard. Do a light overhaul on the motor, put a 4 barrel on it (or if you want to get fancy, FI), and get it in good working order. After that grab yourself a C4 or C6 (AOD if you want overdrive), an NP205, make sure the rest of your drive train is in good working order and you've got the basics to start out. My words of advice, make sure you have EVERYTHING you need and ready to go before you start the swap or it'll drag on forever. Trust me on that.