PDA

View Full Version : My thoughts of my CR ignition

wes350x
06-08-2009, 10:14 AM
Finally I had the opportunity to try it out in the dunes this weekend.

My opinions:
pros- better spark, newer technology, super fast revs

cons- WOW IT LUGS EASY at low speed!!!!!!!!!

norcalduner
06-08-2009, 10:36 AM
Ya missed the best part ..... it starts REAL easy on a bigbore :D

wes350x
06-08-2009, 10:47 AM
Yea, it does start easy. I am just so suprised on how much it lugged taking off on hills, As long as I stayed in the throttle I had no trouble.

hondamancbr03
06-08-2009, 10:54 AM
Originally posted by wes350x
Finally I had the opportunity to try it out in the dunes this weekend.

My opinions:
pros- better spark, newer technology, super fast revs

cons- WOW IT LUGS EASY at low speed!!!!!!!!!

I'm new to the R world, coming from Yamaha Banshee land....I think the R i purchased has a CR ignition but not sure how to tell, can you tell me what to look for. The guy i bought the bike from had no idea what the bike had, didn't even know it had a 350pv engine......

norcalduner
06-08-2009, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by hondamancbr03
I'm new to the R world, coming from Yamaha Banshee land....I think the R i purchased has a CR ignition but not sure how to tell, can you tell me what to look for. The guy i bought the bike from had no idea what the bike had, didn't even know it had a 350pv engine......

Easy way to check is the CDI has only 1 fat connector.....

hondamancbr03
06-08-2009, 11:32 AM
I did remove the stator cover and noticed the stator plate is a new billet mount....Did not see any adjustment to the mount like a Banshee has, but still learning.

Thanks

Jonny B
06-08-2009, 11:40 AM
With the stator cover off you should be able to see a tiny motorcycle flywheel instead of the bigger trx flywheel...also there is no regulator on the cr ignition. Here is a pic of a cr ignition.

hondamancbr03
06-08-2009, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by Jonny B