PDA

View Full Version : Rejetting 300ex and other performance mods

Mattjns93
06-01-2009, 08:10 PM
I posted this on another subforum here, but this seems to be the right place to post it.

I'm relatively new to doing mods to my 300ex, so I need some advice from some of you.

I currently have a 12 tooth front sprocket from the stock 13 on my 300ex and I really like that increased acceleration I get from it. I have an HMF slip on coming in the mail, but here is my problem. Will it be really bad for my engine to run it a bit lean since this exhaust moves more air? I can't get a rejetting kit for a month or two.

Second, are there any other relatively inexpensive mods I can do besides the ones I already plan on?:
new head pipe
H&N air filter + rejetting kit

Any tips are greatly appreciated. I just started riding more seriously again, so I plan on dumping a few bucks back into this 300ex. The one thing that kills me is how much it sucks taking this thing off jumps bigger than 8 feet. Man its rough to land.

trailrider894
06-02-2009, 07:05 PM
i would get some suspension pretty soon if i were you. also i've heard of H&N i'm pretty sure you mean K&N. if you get a k&n i would get an outerwear prefilter also .

Mattjns93
06-03-2009, 04:57 AM
Oh my bad, I meant K&N. I actually might get a Uni filter though, I've read they are better are filtering than K&N. Where I ride it can be very very dusty.

About the suspension, would I be better off just replacing the suspension or is it really worth the significant amount of $$$ to put 400ex a arms, 400ex suspension, and a longer rear axle? I'm not racing or anything. I'm just riding around my farm, like trails and stuff. I do some jumps though, so I'd like to improve the jumping of my 300ex.

trailrider894
06-03-2009, 08:06 AM
you need to upgrade your suspension!!!!! it will be such a difference!!!

Mattjns93
06-03-2009, 02:38 PM