PDA

View Full Version : new 400ex owner

muad
05-12-2009, 07:00 AM
Just wanted to say hello to the community. I just bought a used 2006 400ex with only 55 hours on it. Thing is practically brand new, with the original tires and all.

Only mod I know of is a two brothers m7 slip-on. Not sure if it's jetted for the exhaust or not.

I'm new to the "game", so I'm sure I'll have some questions. I just sold my 400+whp Evo 8, and wanted something to help replace the adrenaline rush :D

On to a couple questions I have:

1. Is the two brothers m7 pipe a good one? I love the sound so far.

2. The stock head pipe looks pretty nice, would an aftermarket one make a noticeable difference in power???

3. I was running 87 oct., however I'm going to use 94 oc.t now, is that best?

4. Is the K&N Power lid any good? I do mostly trail riding, and I do go through water at times (small creeks, etc.) So I want to make sure I don't suck up any water. Please recommend a good intake or filter.

Thanks for any comments. Here is crappy cell phone pic of my bike.

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa46/muad_dib1982/IMG00045.jpg

My plans are mild right now. i want a dependable quad to go riding all over in. Trails, track, parks, etc.

In the future, I do plan on building something up to be a little more wild. Turbo is in my thoughts :eek2:

Take care!

-Will

scuzz
05-12-2009, 08:04 AM
Nice quad! Welcome to the site!

1. Is the two brothers m7 pipe a good one? I love the sound so far.

Yes, I believe it's a very good one. I had one for my 700xx, and although it was loud I like it a lot.

2. The stock head pipe looks pretty nice, would an aftermarket one make a noticeable difference in power???

Slightly more power, but in my opinion not enough to really warrant getting one. Besides, you run the risk of a stud breaking off or something else wacky like that. That's just my opinion though, others here will differ on that.