PDA

View Full Version : 400EX Not Starting

'o3 4ooEX
05-11-2009, 03:33 PM
I need a little help. I am new to working on quads by myself and after my last, we'll call it "feet of acrobatics," the quad will not start. The quad will push start and run perfectly, but it will not start on it own. The previous owner did something with one of the ignition wires I think he had told me when I bought it. He said something about the green wire that comes from the Neutral Light. If any one can offer any type of help I'd greatly appreciate it.
-Doug

scuzz
05-11-2009, 03:36 PM
Make sure the neutral safety switch wire is connected on the bottom of the tranny by your left footpeg.

'o3 4ooEX
05-11-2009, 05:49 PM
Alright I am going to give that a try right now, I hope its that problem.

'o3 4ooEX
05-11-2009, 06:23 PM
I took that wire off also jiggled it around and still nothing. Could it be that the light blew out and that will not engage the safety feature? Like I said I am really new at this... I also traced the wire as best I could, because it covered in black tape, through the entire bike to see if it was cut or broke and it doesn't appear to be.

sprayedgt
05-11-2009, 06:31 PM
So will the starter turn the engine over but it won't fire?

DirtMonkey
05-11-2009, 06:37 PM
Check the fuse by the battery and make sure its not blown, I think its a 15amp fuse. Mine had that problem last weekend.

scuzz
05-11-2009, 09:18 PM
Originally posted by DirtMonkey
Check the fuse by the battery and make sure its not blown, I think its a 15amp fuse. Mine had that problem last weekend.

This was going to be my next suggestion.

'o3 4ooEX
05-12-2009, 12:26 AM
Originally posted by sprayedgt
So will the starter turn the engine over but it won't fire?

No for some reason the electric start wont do any thing. The quad will start if you push it and drop the clutch but wont electric start.