PDA

View Full Version : KFX400 routine maintenance/ a few questions.

moonpie312
05-10-2009, 10:45 PM
Okay guys heres the deal. I'm new here, because I got an ATV. 2006 Kawasaki KFX 400. absolutely love it, and right now, you guys that are going to say stupid crap about me not knowing things. LEAVE NOW. I'm here because I need to learn, so I would greatly appreciate any help I can get.
Now, I'm a daily auto/lawn Mechanic, but i dont know much about these things. I can change the oil, but thats about it? but I dont know the technical stuff ya'll do.
Before anybody says it, NO I dont have a manual and I DONT have the money to buy one. So I need you guys to tell me the basics.
Such as, Chain lubrication/tension, how to clean/maintain the foam air cleaner, how to check the oil,(yes that sounds stupid but I've read a lot of different people saying a lot of different things, about doing hot or cold to hell i dont even know!)
I just need you guys to just tell me all the normal things, its bone stock, except some idiot before me took the endcap off the muffler and chopped off the little peice of pipe that sticks in the muffler and then put the endcap back on(good/bad?) it has about 50 hours on it and it seems to run just fine. i also need to know stuff like the valve adjustments and stuff, like what does it take to do it and when should i do it?
I NEED HELP!
and thats not an understatement.
and then aside from the normal crap, I do eventually wanna upgrade. but for now I need to know all the stuff about it. its completely stock, nothing at all has been done to it. Now ive read things about factor recalls? does this apply to mine? something about the clutch cover? i dont know. but right now the biggest thing, since its stock, and im new to the ATV world, I need to be told all the important things I need to know. so please help!!

jonboy
05-11-2009, 02:05 AM