PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Landscaping Business

08mxkfx
05-09-2009, 12:29 PM
Well since my current job is giving me alot of hours im thinking about starting my own landscape business. Im looking for some tips to getting started since im sure theres a few people that have there own. I want to do it legally by making it a legit business and getting insurance and all. Any ideas how i would go about making it a business and getting insurance? I already have a few weed wackers and a back pack leaf blower but im probably going to pick up a decent used zero turn mower. My friend is going to work for me for like $10 an hour. What do you guys think?

ZeroLogic
05-09-2009, 01:44 PM
I'm a self employed contractor and there's a lot more to it than what meets the eye. Paper work through the roof, estimates everywhere. Insurance for me is 635 bucks. Plus tools, gas, workers, materials. Tax time hurts, accountants are expensive. It adds up. Your best bet is to find a Landscaper and stick with him for a while to learn how it works. Mistakes = money loss. You don't want to make big mistakes. But if you do go off on your own, make a name for yourself. Word of mouth is a contractors best friend or worst enemy.

honduh440
05-09-2009, 02:38 PM
get in to fertilizer and weed control too its easy money and your already on the property

08mxkfx
05-09-2009, 04:53 PM