PDA

View Full Version : 300ex rev limiter. New comer to the sight!

Velocity Raptor
01-02-2003, 05:15 PM
Hi Guys,
Im new to the sight so Im having a hard time getting around in here so Ill just ask.
My son has a 300ex and the rev limiter is kicking in way too early.
I have bypassed the reverse limiter with no problems but the top end limiter is giving me fits.
Does anyone know how I can bypass this or maybe how to fix the problem?
Thanks in advance.

redrider ex
01-02-2003, 05:21 PM
there is no way to bypass it because it is in the cdi you can how ever buy a after market one like white brothers that has a higher limit

Velocity Raptor
01-02-2003, 05:29 PM
That sounds good, how much do they run or is there anyone out there with a used one?

redrider ex
01-02-2003, 05:37 PM
they run around $100 bucks but tell me somthing is there some thing wrong with the one you have or does the bike just have alot of mods on it making it over rev and hit the rev limiter.
If there is just some thing wrong with yours and you want another stock CDI box i have a brand new one i will sell for $50 bucks.

300exazzkikr
01-02-2003, 05:51 PM
what kind of mods are you running?

killed300ex
01-02-2003, 05:52 PM
how did you bypass the reverse limiter? I wanna do that i hate the limiter in reverse
killed

Velocity Raptor
01-02-2003, 05:54 PM
An IDS Supertrapp, K&N filter, DynoJet Stage 1 and thats it.

Velocity Raptor
01-02-2003, 05:57 PM
Here you go!

Removing the reverse rev limiter!
An easy way to remove the reverse rev limiter is.....
follow the 2 wires going from the reverse switch(behind brake pedal) up to the harness, (the wires are light green and white)
unplug the white from the harness and ground it to the frame!