PDA

View Full Version : First race on the DS.

kellymi
05-03-2009, 08:02 PM
Well last weekend I had my first race on the DS. Overall I gotta say I am extremely pleased with my purchase so far. I have been racing the C class for the past three years, and before this I was riding a 04 DVX400. This year I decided to upgrade to a 09 DS450 XC and jump to the B class. The race was a mudfest and I am just happy that I finished. Right now I am running this thing bone stock. Just cut the pink wire, pulled the airbox lid off, and pulled the baffle out of the exhaust.

First off I need to practice my starts on this thing. Out of the 30 people in the B class I was exactly last off the line. It doesn't start like my old DVX. Although it was probably a blessing because I didn't get showered with mud lol. During the race I learned many things. One is that this DS handles like a dream. Even without a steering stabilizer it is better then my old DVX with a stabilizer. It turns on a dime and is very predictable. Another thing that I learned is that the suspension is actually very good stock. I think it is better then the old DVX that had built GT thunder shocks. It does lack a little on the bottom the the power is a very smooth power. The gearing on the XC model is actually almost right on. In the tight stuff I was in first most the time and had no problem getting around without using the clutch very much. I was actually surprised with the stock swingarm skid. Even with the deep ruts that developed I didn't get hung up that much. As for keeping mud out of the radiator all I did was put two layers of window screen over the front. Halfway through the race I pulled the top layer off. At the end of the race I ended up finishing and was able to get 9th out of 30 in the B class. Before the race my brothers were giving me a bad time about racing what the call a "DNF 450". But, in the end I am the only one that finished out of our group:D