PDA

View Full Version : oil in airbox

sha_rob_27
04-27-2009, 11:46 AM
hey guys, my girlfriend and I went to sand mountain this weekend, and her ltr kept having oil show up in the airbox...still runs like a champ and is pretty fast...anyone else have this happen? fried rings? or is there a crankcase vent or something that would cause this...please let me know! thanks

atveric132
04-27-2009, 12:45 PM
yea its blown. rings went bad and prolly scratched cylinder which is letting oil get on top of the piston and blowing it into the airbox

honda250xman
04-27-2009, 07:11 PM
there is a crank case vent, but yeah it sounds blown. you're probably going to need a whole new top end :-/

sha_rob_27
04-27-2009, 08:54 PM
ok...any idea how much it will be? or what kind of piston and stuff to get? im new to the inside of this thing, and dont want to mess it up...any advice is much appreciated

atveric132
04-28-2009, 09:20 AM
you wont need a intire top end maybe just a cylinder. unless you want to spend a good amount of money i would just get another stock piston. once you take it apart call kyle at cernics he will hook you up.

sha_rob_27
04-28-2009, 09:40 AM
so a piston, rings, and gaskets for sure...and maybe a cylinder...ok...i guess i will look it up...cylinders are gonna be spendy im sure....

atveric132
04-28-2009, 11:37 AM
yea well a piston kit comes with rings. a top end gasket kit and you will have to take it apart and look at the cylinder before you kno if its bad or not. call kyle at cernics and telll him eric vaughn said to call you and he will hook you up with some discounts

Warnerade
04-28-2009, 01:35 PM
id look into sending your cylinder out to get it re-sealed...if your rings went bad odds are your cylinder is worn

sha_rob_27
04-28-2009, 01:57 PM
ok...i will probably tear into it this weekend, thanks for all the help...where could i get my cylinder re sealed? or would I have to get a new sleeve as well?

atveric132
04-28-2009, 02:41 PM