PDA

View Full Version : ltz ticking/knocking

johnafun
04-25-2009, 12:06 PM
we all know that diegnosing a problem at a shop is almost as costly as the repaire itself in some cases. so i hope i can get some insight.

during my first XC race my 06 ltz400 developed a ticking/knocking noise similer to an exhaust leak but a lil deeper sounding. no exhaust leak was found and noise seems to be coming from the engine.it gets even worse in 5th gear full throttle and the quad starts to have trouble pulling the top end. but hasnt affected performance much anywhere else. i havnt rode it since, only to start it and try and pin point the area of noise. i have heard of the ltz's having cam issues after rejetting and CDI upgrades.

any thoughts ????

John451
04-25-2009, 07:45 PM
Since you race i'd imagine you have a mechanic. But sounds like your valves are loose. You just needa tighten the nut on top down to keep it in place.

johnafun
04-25-2009, 11:04 PM
no mechanic !LOL im no pro by far. just been trying out racing quads in a new race series in my area called stx-atv. should check it out if your in the south or central texas area.

thanks for the advice ile check it out

kawiracerj
04-28-2009, 10:32 PM
theres no nut to tighten down on ltz valves. u have to change shims!

johnafun
04-28-2009, 11:51 PM
are the shims known for wearing quiker under high stress? such as the high reving 60 min race i put it through?
im used to sport bikes and 2 strokes so i have a habit of windeing out a bike plus when your running against 450's i gotta give it everything its got to stay with them.lol

chevys&honda$
04-29-2009, 01:00 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by johnafun
[B]we all know that diegnosing a problem at a shop is almost as costly as the repaire itself in some cases. so i hope i can get some insight.