PDA

View Full Version : Jetting help

zrpilot
04-25-2009, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by richards
Let's have a discussion about how to tune main jets...

I was actually thinking of starting a thread regarding this very subject. Let me first start by saying I’m NOT an expert on this, but I have some dyno evidence and experiences I would like to share.
First some basics:
1) Every bike is different
2) Temperatures, humidity, barometric pressure, and elevation ALL have an effect on jetting
3) Jetting TAKES TRIAL AND ERROR, no one can prescribe the perfect jetting for you, you HAVE to experiment and find what works for your bike.
4) If during the jetting/tuning process you have made a number of adjustments (especially main jet or needle clip) to the carburetor and the engine has not changed. There is a strong possibility that something other than carburetion jetting is causing your engine to perform incorrectly. Jetting is a constant. When adjustments are made to a machine with all components working properly the engine will respond in some way. Depending on the adjustment made the machine will either run better or worse, but there is almost always some form of change. When changes are made without any response it is a sign of other problems. For example float level needs to be correct as it affects jetting and tuning if wrong.

Used to be you could read spark plugs but that was iffy back in the day and it is worse now as newer gasoline additives can affect plug color.

Good point. I often want to chime in when I see posts about a fella that rode his quad for an hour and pulls the plug, looking at the color for jetting. This is not an effective way to judge jetting. It COULD be, but there is a specific method of doing this that involves looking at the insulator on the inside of the plug which almost always requires cutting the plug apart to see.
OK so lets talk about the different circuits and what they do, see picture below: