PDA

View Full Version : I need an education in suspension...

BEAVER.989
04-23-2009, 01:07 PM
The more I search what's available the more confused I become. Between the different length and manufacturers of a arms, standard travel vs. long travel, link vs. no link and revalves vs. aftermarket shocks, I'm lost.

I'm looking for the ideal set-up for aggressive trail riding, including shocks, a arms, linkages, etc.

Anyone care to share their definition of the ideal GNCC, XC type set-up? I'm all ears...

F-16Guy
04-23-2009, 01:46 PM
I wouldn't say I'm an expert by any stretch, but here's my $.02:

Std vs. LT -- The only difference, at least in theory, between the two is the lower shock mount location. LT arms move the mounts out toward the spindle, which increases the distance the shock shaft has to travel for a given suspension movement, which results in faster shaft speed. Making the piston move faster through the oil should make the shock more sensitive to adjustments, therefore, more tuneable. I think people are starting to realize that LT doesn't necessarily = better, especially depending on your skill level. If you can't ride to the machine's potential, you probably won't realize the gains.

Link vs. no link -- I think the benefits of this are really machine specific. Some machines, like the 450R, get too firm too quickly and buck on square edge bumps, so a different link changes the progression rate and keeps it plush longer through the stroke.

Revalves vs. Aftermarket -- I think this depends on your skill level, type of riding, the shock builder, and your ability to fine-tune the shocks. Most shocks funtion on basically the same principal of a piston moving through oil to dampen the movement. Most shocks use a piston with large holes, and control the movement via a shim stack. The diference between shocks, then, boils down to the quality of materials, nuances of piston design, orifice sizes throughout the shock, shim selection, etc.