PDA

View Full Version : Shock thoughts and questions. . . .

SPDSNYPR
04-12-2009, 04:00 PM
Well I'm obviously no expert in any of this otherwise I wouldn't ask all the dumb questions. But I have some thoughts on shock setup that I'd like to run by the masses to see if I'm on track.

I put some 450R shocks on last week or so. The ride is much-improved. I have heard some complain that they are too stiff even on the softest settings. I'm part sasquatch (6-04, 270ish), so they seemed fine to me on the softest settings for riding trails moderately fast (I'm no pro). I seem to be getting a bit less body roll in turns, and the few jumps I've tried on the MC track were much better - none of the really hard bottoming out I had with the 400 shocks.

But I have noticed that the nose sits a little higher. In fact it scared me a bit when I went out and took my first jump (a lot more nose-up than I would have liked). But after a few minutes of riding, all's well.

Now that my front shocks are a bit better, I'm noticing the shortfalls of the rear shock. I know it's nowhere near right for my size and weight.

So I was thinking about first having the rear revalved/resprung for my weight. I thought about the GTT rear link, but don't know if I want to really lower the rear. Seems like a PITA to have to make all the mods so I can end up with less ground clearance. Maybe I misunderstand why losing ground clearance is desireable in XC riding.

I do think after I get that done (re-re rear shock), the GTT dual rate front springs seem like a good place to start. Would bring the front down a bit, would make is more appropriate for my weight.

So am I missing anything? Am I tracking toward the right goal on how this should be set up for just trails and local XC racing club stuff?

Thanks in advance.

Newrider08
04-12-2009, 04:11 PM
I would not lower the rear being your size might bottom the rear out more if you do.