PDA

View Full Version : Big Problem - Need Help Fast

davidw2155
04-06-2009, 05:42 PM
I was installing a HotCams Stage 1 camshaft in my 400EX this afternoon and I ran into a MAJOR problem, at least I think it is unless someone can help me out with it. I was following the directions given on Little Sahara's website about installing the camshaft (http://www.lspsonline.com/howto/400ex%20hotcam/index.htm). So far, its the best install guide I've found online.

Now for the problem....I was removing the Cylinder head cover, removing bolts in a criss-cross pattern like it says. A few of the bolts were pretty tough, they didn't want to come out. A was extra careful on those, making sure not to put too much pressure on them so I wouldn't torque them off...or so I thought. I torqued off the two with red arrows on them in the picture.

Now for the solution, maybe. I really, really, really don't want to have to go out and buy a new cylinder head. I was thinking, I am a good machinist, I can drill out the two holes that have the bolts broken off in them, re-tap or helicoil, get a bigger bolt, and go from there? I figure if I will have to get a new cylinder head I might as well try this to see if it works or not.

What do ya'll think about that? Any advice or suggestions?

Young_Gun1
04-06-2009, 05:48 PM
I have helicoiled one of them on mine before but it stripped out of the head instead of breaking it off
you just need to be careful

honda400ex2003
04-06-2009, 05:50 PM