PDA

View Full Version : 300ex jetting help

Curtis300ex
04-06-2009, 04:54 PM
Im running a hmf full system exhaust and a k&n filter with no lid, i bought the moose racing stage 2 jet kit, put in the suggested main jet and i put the clip on the needle to the fourth notch from the bottom like the kit suggested. we also turned out the mixture screw to 3 turns out.

The bike idles and starts up fine, but about mid rpms it really falls on its face, bogs down and has no power, but does really great in the top rpms. i still have the stock pilot jet in, should i got up a few sizes with that? im not sure what will fix the mid rpm bog. it also pops a bit on deceleration, i also took out the spark plug to check that and it was black around the threads but on the tip where the spark comes out it was white.

Im 17 and this is my first time jetting, im fairly mechanically inclined and my dad is helping me also, i just figured i would ask you guys cause we both have no clue when it comes to jetting, so any suggestions would be great, thanks guys.

Quadkid440
04-06-2009, 06:24 PM
Popping on decel is too rich. Could also make a mid-range bog. Try turning the screw in a bit or going down one size on main jet.

Could also drop the needle a notch or too to lean it out a little bit.

Could also turn to fuel screw in all the way and go 1/4 turn at a time until it idles fine. From what I've learned anything past 2 1/2 turns out is bad. But 300ex carbs are new to me. Try leaning it out a bit first. Plugs chops are good too.

What color is the spark plug? If its all black and chitty its too rich. if its like whitish yellow its too lean. you want a soft brown color on your plug. Check the plug and get back to me. We can get this figured out.

Curtis300ex
04-06-2009, 06:42 PM