PDA

View Full Version : Smoke'n Bad.. Rings,valve Stem Seals Or Both?

RR_MIKE
04-01-2009, 09:26 AM
first off i should introduce my self a bit.. i just registered last night.. my names mike, im 42(dont let the age fool ya).im from findlay,ohio.. i raced mx for 11 years(cr250's), i got into sportbikes 5 years ago. i currently own an 06 cbr600rr i do trackdays with....im also a drummer in band(HEXED)..
now onto my question.. i just picked up a 2000 400ex, supposedly with a 440 stage2 hotcam kit,and full duncan exhaust(which sounds sweet by the way)..,its kinda thrashed on but still somewhat decent shape to play around on.. but the problem is, when i first start it(it starts fine and runs real strong),but man does it look like a bug fogger lol..i mean real bad.. the compression seems to be good,but it still smokes a lil bit constantly when ya accelerate and let off the gas and get back on it(not near as bad) after it warms up, but at any startup,warm or cold, wow its a puffer lol... should i just do a complete topend,or just try to put valve stem seals in and see if thats the prob? and how hard is it to do.. im an old 2stoke guy lol.. i looked on line at an exploded view of the topend and it looks pretty complicated..i was told the guy prolly didnt jet right and it cooked the ex. valve seals? ive only got 400 bux in it, so i can dump a few bills in it if need be..and another question, how do i make sure that it does have a 440 kit.. i'd hate to buy all the stuff and have it be the wrong piston for the bore..HEEEEEEEELP lol...any input would be greatly appreciated... thanx......

F-16Guy
04-01-2009, 10:34 AM