PDA

View Full Version : going to a 440

tim colston
03-25-2009, 10:19 AM
Hello all, I apologize for asking this question but I am on my blackberry and it isn't easy to search the forums. I am going from a stock bore 400 to a 440. Could someone on here tell me what I will need parts wise. I all ready have someone lined up to bore it but i need to know what kind of piston, size compression etc, oversized oil tank, if needed, HD studs on and on. Please lay it out I am new to the boring thing and wanted to do this and have it the most reliable I can get. I am currently using amsoil 0w 40 full syn oil. will that change? I do have a LRD full system on my bike. So please don't tell me to search i cannot do that easily. Thanks in advance fellas.

T.

Sanddraging28
03-25-2009, 10:25 AM
for a 440 you will need to have a new sleeve installed. i would stay under 11 to 1 compression if you want to run pump gas. get a stage 2 cam and the HD head studs are a must. look into getting a 450r carb. the oil tank is up to you, i dont use them.
also get a new cam chain, just to be safe

tim colston
03-25-2009, 10:26 AM
Originally posted by Sanddraging28
for a 440 you will need to have a new sleeve installed. i would stay under 11 to 1 compression if you want to run pump gas. get a stage 2 cam and the HD head studs are a must. look into getting a 450r carb. the oil tank is up to you, i dont use them.
also get a new cam chain, just to be safe

As far as the sleeve goes. Can i just buy a new one or is there a special "440" sleeve that I buy. Thanks sand.

Sanddraging28
03-25-2009, 10:28 AM
when you buy a new sleeve just make sure it is for a 440 not a stock sleeve. the biggest you can go with a stock sleeve is 426

tim colston
03-25-2009, 10:30 AM
should I consider going to a 426 instead. I don't ride much any more around 20 hrs a year. i just wanted the fastest I could get for the little time i do get to ride.

Sanddraging28
03-25-2009, 10:34 AM