PDA

View Full Version : 400ex: Bore to 426

pickin_aggie08
03-24-2009, 10:01 AM
I know this topic has been exhausted throughout these forums, but i still have a few questions... From doing a little research, i have decided to go with a 426 instead of the 440, because i dont race, and i dont want to deal with the overheating issue, and blowing head gaskets. As older 400's go, my rings are leaking, and i now have discovered a small oil leak out of the top, so it is due time for a rebuild. I figured while i was in there, i might as well make it a little faster by boring, and im also getting a hotcams stage 2 for it as well. My questions though are, do you need to replace things like the cam chain for a heavy duty one, or just a new stock one (chains stretch!!), and what about the guides, and tensioner? Is it a good idea to replace valves, valve springs??? Im pretty new to all this stuff, Ive never bored an engine before, but have a pretty good idea of what is going on. I know lots of you guys on this forum have done this before, and know what is or isnt going to tear up. Im kinda on a budget, so i dont want to spend $$ on unneeded items, but i dont want my stuff to fall apart the first time i take it out either.... ANY input on this would be greatly appreciated...
Thanks,
Eric

Sanddraging28
03-24-2009, 10:44 AM
i have built a few 426's. its a good bike, nice power, and reliable if built right.
a hot cams stage 2 cam is about perfect for a 426. to get the best power out of that cam you need to go to a higher compression piston, at least 12 to 1 compression. but by doing that you need to replace the head studs with a aftermarket set. i would replace the cam chain while you are rebuilding, like you said chains stretch. i would get a cam chain for a CRF 450R. its a lot stronger than a 400ex cam chain, also replace the cam chain tensioner. i don't think you will have to replace the chain guides. never seen any that i had to replace in my motors.