PDA

View Full Version : cutting out

1187shooter
03-19-2009, 04:41 PM
Newbie here. I'm having trouble with my 400EX. I'll give a little Info for starters. I bought the quad with no info from the previous owner. Didn't run. I started off with top end rebuild. Had it bored 85.5mm OEM style piston, has a WB cam, not sure what stage, new crf450r tminig chain, valves seated, removed the WB CDI and put a new stock CDI,has aftermarket HP coil, K&N air filter no lid, carb rebuilt, Big Gun full exhaust. My problem is, the quad starts good, has rough idle and cuts out above half throttle. I've tried 38-45 pilot jets, 148-160 main jets, no change in performance.

sprayedgt
03-19-2009, 06:16 PM
Welcome to the site. First off were these Keihin jets? If they were I would then check to see where the fuel screw is set at. Turn it all the way in counting how many turns it goes. Normally it's set somewhere around 2 to 2 1/2 turns out depending on what it wants to make it run right. I ask about the jet brand because not all jets are rated the same way by jet size. A Dynojet 160 is not the same as a Keihin 160.

1187shooter
03-19-2009, 06:33 PM
They were, directly from the local Honda dealership. I started with mixture srew 2 1/4 turns out and tried both directions. I wish I knew a little more info from the previous owner, mabey it was an issue before. Do you think its possible that it could be electrical? I tried a factory coil off my brothers quad but no change. I also checked the carb for air leaks. I'm no certified mechanic, I've worked on all my motorcycles and quads for years but cant seem to find the problem.

sprayedgt
03-19-2009, 06:46 PM
Does the jet have a little star on it? If it does it's a Keihin. If not it's some other brand. I would try a 162 Keihin jet and see how that works. How about the needle? What notch is it on?

1187shooter
03-19-2009, 06:54 PM