PDA

View Full Version : sprcoket mod?????

rideronthestorm
03-18-2009, 01:30 PM
I just bought a stage 1 power kit from mods3 for my 03 400ex, with it came a front sprocket 13 t, If I install the front, do I need to change the size of the rear, and if so what size in the rear would work best with the 13 t in front??? I'm fairly new to riding and basicly trying to find out what the best setup is for my quad... evreything is strock so far, except the stage 1 kit, and I just ordered a sparks timing key; thanks to everyone on here posting info...

thnks for the advice, like I said, this is all new to me, so I would have no clue if it wasn't for this site...

crxjarred
03-18-2009, 02:45 PM
not u wont have to change the rear but will have to adjust chain and chaing to a 13 tooth u will loose top end but be quicker more snapy

rideronthestorm
03-18-2009, 06:04 PM
thanks bro...

sprayedgt
03-18-2009, 06:22 PM
You'll love the Sparks key. That in conjunction with the 13t sprocket and it'll wheelie like crazy. Best 2 mods for the money I did to my 400ex.

honda400ex2003
03-19-2009, 01:10 AM
I cant even imagine the low end it would have with a 13 on it. I put my 14 on from the 15 and it made a huge difference. I run the 14 with my mud sharks 21". It ripped even with those. I only rode it alittle with the 14 on with the razrs 20" I was always shifting. Now with my 416 I was thinking about putting the 16 I have on to try it out. Nice addition with the key and the 13. It will take off like it is going to the moon. good Luck Steve

dave4881
03-19-2009, 08:24 PM
Mine is an 05 and I run a 13T front and 39T rear. You really have to hold on to the bars when you hit the throtle and climbs hills like crazy. I ride dunes and desert with some serious hills and it seems to be the best setup for me.

dirtmerchant42
03-19-2009, 10:27 PM
only changing that one sprocket will cause it to wear down really fast by already having a worn chain and back sprocket

crxjarred
03-20-2009, 05:49 AM