PDA

View Full Version : New to the EX, gotta leak!

petersen302
03-13-2009, 11:08 AM
Hey All,

I have an 01 400EX that I traded my Banshee away for (not sure if that was a good idea now). I am new to the four stroke world. Got it out today after installing my new Lexx pipe. I noticed a small leak. It appears to be coming from the bottom of the oil tank, right on the bolt. Is that large rubber piece know for cracking or anything? Any advice would be helpful. Thanks guys!

redteamgo2000
03-13-2009, 11:11 AM
if its the bolt leaking your best bet is just to replace the gasket on it. be sure not to crank it down super tight.

petersen302
03-13-2009, 11:17 AM
Yeah, the overall quad is not in the best shape. But it runs out well. Taking it to my cousins in an hour or so to strip it down and give it some TLC. Won't be able to make it to the honda shop till early next week.

F-16Guy
03-13-2009, 11:38 AM
That rubber piece on the bottom is just a mounting grommet. There is a threaded nipple on the bottom of the tank for the drain bolt, and it slides into that grommet. There should be an aluminum sealing washer on the drain bolt to prevent leaks. Remove the bolt next oil change and check. The nipple on that tank is known to break off where it's welded to the tank body from people over-torquing the bolt, so it may be cracked and leaking from there. If you install a new sealing washer on the tank and it still leaks, you may want to check that next. If the nipple isn't cracked and you fix the leak with a new washer, just be very careful not ot over-torque that drain bolt.

redteamgo2000
03-13-2009, 11:47 AM
yeah thats what im saying it is. someone probably cranked it down tighter because the seal was leaking thinking it would seal. id just get a new seal and try that. dont go much over finger tight maybe 1/4 turn at most just snug it up dont need the smash the seal flat.

Newrider08
03-13-2009, 02:24 PM