PDA

View Full Version : 86 crank to 4 mill stroker

nashport_native
03-12-2009, 05:19 PM
Im replacing my crank in my 86 with a 87-89 4 mill stroker since i ride in the woods, to give me more bottom.

my question is this, if I have to shim the cylinder up .19 for the longer rod, can I just move the cylinder up another .16? (4mm divided by 25.4) I am a machinist by trade, so I could make a .35 thick spacer plate pretty easy.

also, what piston would I run?

thanks,
mike

Honda 250r 001
03-12-2009, 05:26 PM
what i would do is instead of moving the cylinder up 4 mm or what ever the normal spacer is, i would move it up about 6mm, that way you dont have to mill the head and you can adjust your compression that way too by using thicker and thinner base gaskets, use a 86 piston with the spacer.

C-LEIGH RACING
03-13-2009, 07:42 AM
Lets throw a kink in the logic.
Spacing the cylinder up, not the proper way to do it, you always want the ports at the bottom of the stroke.

But, sometimes spacing is the only way it can be done.

What your are about to start to do, is something you realy need to know what your doing for it to come out right in the end or else you'll end up with an engine slower than a stock engine build.
Neil

Honda 250r 001
03-13-2009, 08:23 AM
ya man im thinkin about screwin my stroker and goin back to the short rod, this is just too complicated for me. And how much hp do you gain with this? and where is it at? (bottom-mid-top?) I have not done anything to the cylinder but i have milled the head 2 mm and i am getting beat by piped 450's and it pisses me off.

86 Quad R
03-18-2009, 07:17 AM
Originally posted by Honda 250r 001
ya man im thinkin about screwin my stroker and goin back to the short rod, this is just too complicated for me. And how much hp do you gain with this? and where is it at? (bottom-mid-top?) I have not done anything to the cylinder but i have milled the head 2 mm and i am getting beat by piped 450's and it pisses me off.