PDA

View Full Version : Subs, boxes, and amps.

Zakradu398
03-12-2009, 02:58 PM
I am new to this and looking to get 2 15" subwoofers. The subs i am looking at are 15" Kicker 05CVR154 and the amp is a nitro bmx-486 which is a 2000w. With the subs, what do the ohms mean?

If there is something else for around the same money that are better quality, please let me know.

I am also looking to build my own sealed box. Where can i find dimensions for 2 15"s in one box?

links:

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_3411_Kicker+05CVR154.html

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_2717_Nitro+BMW-486.html#

03-12-2009, 03:30 PM
Ohms are the resistance. 05CVR154 I dont know what the 05 means but CVR is the Kicker Comp VR Series, 15 is the size, and 4 is the Ohm. I have 2 CVR 12's 2 Ohm and they will pound! Your better off with 1 Kicker 15" L7 Solobaric rather than 2 15" CVR. You need atleast 1.8 cubic feet per sub in a sealed box. Like I said though 1 15" Solobaric L7 is equal to 2 15" CVR. You will take up much less space with just 1.

You can find out all the specs at kicker.com

XCRacer236
03-12-2009, 04:13 PM
check out soundsolutionsaudio.com A LOT of useful info over there. and plenty of guys that will help you. i would stay away form square subs, since the cone is bigger it puts more force onto the motor to push it, and causes too much stress, causing premature sub failure.

that amp is too much for that sub anyway. im guessing its 1000 watts per channel, and that sub can only handle 500.

Zakradu398
03-12-2009, 06:08 PM
Originally posted by CaseDawg350
check out soundsolutionsaudio.com A LOT of useful info over there. and plenty of guys that will help you. i would stay away form square subs, since the cone is bigger it puts more force onto the motor to push it, and causes too much stress, causing premature sub failure.

that amp is too much for that sub anyway. im guessing its 1000 watts per channel, and that sub can only handle 500.