PDA

View Full Version : on any sunday

dehner47
03-12-2009, 09:59 AM
i bought that movie yesterday and i have to say, it was awesome. if anyone young or old want to see how far we have come in the motocycle/racing world please watch it. i cant believe there were actually dudes wearing baseball and football helmets while racing. damn how times have changed:D

05LSR250R
03-12-2009, 11:02 AM
Yes....times have changed!

But one common thing remains..........the freedom of being off-road!

dehner47
03-12-2009, 11:04 AM
very very true. the last scene when there out playing on the beach is awesome. makes me just wanna go out and ride the hills with my boys and just have a good time being on a bike. or in our case, a quad :D

tri5ron
03-12-2009, 11:07 AM
I remember when it came out.
saw it about 10 times in the theaters.
It was the "kickoff" to all that is MX to this day.

When I started riding, we wore open faced helmets, and would mount football gaurds to the fronts.
(There was no such thing as a closed face offroad helmet.)

There also was no such thing as riding pants, jerseys, or chest protectors.
We wore Leather Welders jackets, welders chaps, and Lineman's boots, (that laced all the way up to your knee's).
Elbow pads were unheard of, and shin guards were fom a Hockey Goalie's gear.

gloves were like a regular leather roping glove that had rubber strips sewn along the tops of the fingers and knuckles.

and the hottest mods were to weld lower rear shock mounts 1 or 2 inches forward to give you a whopping 4 1/2 inches of travel (over the stock 3 1/2"), remove your oil induction tank so you would mix your gas, replace the metal fenders with "Preston Petty's", change to a foam air filter, and get D.I.D. aluminum wheels to replace the stock steel wheels.